Friday, August 27, 2010

September 15: Religious Freedom Moot Court Registration

The Competition

The student chapter of the J. Reuben Clark Law Society at George Washington University worked with the law school in 2007 to inaugurate the National Religious Freedom Moot Court.

The competition takes place at The George Washington University Law School in Washington, D.C. and consists of two preliminary rounds, a quarterfinal round, a semifinal round, and the championship round.

The preliminary rounds are to be held on the afternoon of Friday, February 4, 2011. The quarterfinal, semi-final and championship rounds will be held on Saturday afternoon, after which there will be a reception for the participants and judges.

While many moot court competitions involve questions of constitutional law or focus on various aspects of the First Amendment, the National Religious Freedom Moot Court is the first to our knowledge that is specifically dedicated to the issue of religious freedom.

Professors Ira C. Lupu and Robert W. Tuttle, Co-Directors of the Project on Law and Religious Institutions, oversee the drafting of the Moot Court problem. Teams will be assigned to brief one side of the competition problem, but must come prepared to argue both sides.

Who Can Compete

The competition is open to 24 two-member teams and is limited to 2L, 3L and 4L students from ABA-accredited law schools. In the event that more than 24 team register to compete, teams will be asked to submit resumes and any other information they feel may bear upon their commitment to the competition and their ability to perform (e.g., their team selection process). Teams will then be selected based on the quality of their members and the teams’ commitment to the competition.

No comments:

Post a Comment