Rex Lee / Shawn Bentley Lunch

Check back soon for details on our 2017 Rex Lee / Shawn Bentley Awards luncheon - to be held this spring.  In the meantime . . .

Law Students: Apply for the 2017 $3,000 Shawn Bentley Award

The JRCLS DC/Mid-Atlantic Chapter invites law students to apply for the $3000 Shawn Bentley award for volunteer service.  The purpose of this stipend is to encourage students to come to DC to work and to participate and serve in the public sector.  In order to qualify students should be actively seeking volunteer opportunities to work in the Washington DC area for not-for-profit companies, associations or for Government.  Students should be law students and members of the JRCLS chapter at their school.

The award is named after Shawn Bentley, who spent most of his legal career working for the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee.  He applied his considerable talents to help pass valuable laws while at the same time being a great mentor, friend and consensus builder.  Please see the attached letter for more information on this program and its requirements.

Award recipients will be honored at the annual Rex Lee Advocacy Award Lunch hosted by the DC Chapter in Washington, DC in the Spring of 2017. 

Applications are due on May 1, 2017.   


Applications should be sent to Jonathan Jacobs via email at

Applicants should address the following award criteria in a cover letter and/or statement:

1. Prior public service sector employment both legal and otherwise.

2. Current plans for or efforts to work in public service sector legal employment, including whether you already have secured such employment for the upcoming summer in the DC/Mid- Atlantic Area [Washington DC, Virginia, Maryland and West Virginia].

3. Commitment to spend at least a part of your upcoming summer working in public service sector legal employment, preferably in the DC/Mid-Atlantic Area.

4. Desire to spend a part of your legal career working in the public sector.

5. Membership, participation and other involvement with the J. Reuben Clark Law Society, including the student chapter at your law school.

6. What, if any, financial assistance or other awards, grants, or scholarships have you received in connection with (a) law school and (b) your upcoming summer employment.

7. If you already have obtained employment for the upcoming summer, please provide information about the compensation, if any, that you will be receiving.

8. Please provide a written recommendation from a Dean or Associate Dean of your law school or from a law professor.

9. Please provide a resume along with your application.

Applications must be received by no later than May 1, 2017.

 Selection will be announced shortly thereafter.

The J. Reuben Clark Law Society instituted the Rex Lee Advocacy Award in 2001.  The goals of the award are to (1) honor Rex Lee and his example of excellent and ethical advocacy, as well as his great contributions to his profession and his country, (2) teach and encourage excellent and ethical legal advocacy, and (3) honor others who, like Rex Lee, have demonstrated excellent and ethical advocacy.

The Shawn Bentley Public Service Award provides stipends to law student recipients who have demonstrated a commitment to public service and a willingness to explore legal public service opportunities in the Washington, D.C., area.  It is sponsored by twelve firms and private donors and is managed by the Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the J. Reuben Clark Law Society.

Each year, the J. Reuben Clark Law Society hosts a luncheon and award ceremony in Washington, D.C.  Since its inception in 2001, the J. Reuben Clark Law Society has honored distinguished men and women who embody excellence in legal advocacy.  Below is a list of prior award recipients and keynote speakers at our annual Rex Lee/Shawn Bentley Awards Luncheon:

Rex E. Lee Advocacy Award Luncheon
Award Recipient
Carter G. Phillips
Bill Marriott (Marriott International)
Seth Waxman
Noland Archibald (Black & Decker)
Theodore B. Olson
Senator Gordon Smith / Judge Samuel Alito
Edwin S. Kneedler
Senator Orrin Hatch / Seth Waxman
Maureen E. Mahoney
Paul Clement (SG)
Michael Dreeben
Alberto Gonzales (AG)
Jeffrey P. Minear
Tom Kelly (Jet Blue)/ Mike Lee / Paul Clement
Barbara McDowell
Elder Bruce Hafen / Chief Justice John Roberts / Paul Clement
Paul D. Clement
President Matthew Holland (UVU) / Judge Lawrence Block
William T Coleman, Jr.
Justice Samuel Alito / Senator Orrin Hatch
Beth S. Brinkmann
Senator Harry Reid, Sen. Mike Lee / Judge Thomas Griffith
Gregory Garre
Justice Thomas Lee, Judge Sharon Prost
William C. Bryson
Justice Clarence Thomas, Elder Jeffrey Holland
Sri Srinivasan
Justice Elena Kagan, Susan Davies
Patricia Ann Millett
Justice Sandra Day O’Connor, Judge Thomas Griffith, Alex Dahl
Malcolm Stewart
Panel discussion by Carter Phillips, Gregory Garre, Beth Brinkmann, and Judges Patricia Millett, Thomas Griffith, and Sri Srinivasan